Foals and Genesis

Sunday: Music

Foals

Do you know what indie-rock band Foals and prog-rock Genesis have in common? Well, I, too, didn’t have a clue until I came across a youtube comment left under Foals’ new Inhaler song. In fact, listen to this very beginning of Follow You, Follow Me by the always-great Genesis:

and now listen to, apart from the fact that it’s one of the best songs I have heard in a while, the beginning of Inhaler by Foals:

One of the most fun and satisfying things to do is to find out similarities between songs and most of all it gives never-ending inspirations. I now wonder whether Yannis and the others listened to or just heard Genesis playing in the background when they got the inspiration for Inhaler! Maybe if ever one day I randomly bump into them on the street, I’ll ask.

As for now, let me just give a heads up. Holy Fire, Foals’ third album will be released on February 11. Don’t miss the date.

Leave a Reply

