I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe)

Monday: Music

This song is part of my history. I grew up in London when I was a kid and this is the music my parents taught me:

It was this album, among many, many others, but it was that refrain that has always fascinated me and I will never forget it and this is exactly when at the very beginning it says “it’s one o’clock and time for lunch, bam di dam di dam”.. priceless!

This song, by Genesis, was released on the 3rd of August 1973. The song falls under the progressive rock and psychedelic rock realms and is greatly inspired by The Beatles.

Interesting note alert! (this is really cool) It was keyboardist Tony Banks that used a note played on the low end of the Mellotron during the intro and ending to imitate the sound of a lawn mower and this effect was discovered during a recording session by Peter Gabriel while Banks was in the toilet!!!!! Can you believe it? hahah Awesome!

Credits to who deserves them:

Peter Gabriel – lead vocal, flute, percussion
Steve Hackett – electric guitar
Mike Rutherford – bass, electric sitar, backing vocal
Tony Banks – Hammond organ, ARP Pro Soloist, backing vocal
Phil Collins – drums, backing vocal, percussion – yup, the great Phil Collins, did you know he was part of Genesis? 🙂

Have a good evening, keep calm and sell England by the Pound. Love to all.

2 thoughts on “I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe)

  1. Shriek! My favorite album and song…”As the sun beats down, I lie on my bench and can always hear them talk.” How fun that you know and love it, too. That the end of high school for me, so the music brings back a lot of great memories.

Leave a Reply

